Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Jealousy Among the Gods?

Here’s a topic for you eclectic Pagans out there who honor more than one Pantheon… do your Pantheons play nicely, or do they get jealous of your devotion to deities that preside over the same areas from another Pantheon?

I, myself, mix the Egyptian Pantheon with Celtic and Norse appearances. I have one member of the Greek Pantheon in my personal pantheon, and another finding her niche – but primarily, I work with deities from those three.

So far, I haven’t had issues with calling on deities from multiple Pantheons. In my daily practice, I may call on or honor several home and hearth deities. When I am making incense, I may call on deities that are associated with the purpose of the incense – fertility, peace, protection, or for a Sabbat. I seem to have a rather laid back/casual relationship with my personal deities on a day-to-day basis, but my rituals tend to be uber formal, so I think that balances out.

I tend to think of the different deities as incarnations of the Lord or Lady (or both). For example, I may call on Ares, Sekhmet and Kali to help me deal with frustration or anger – to channel it into a productive outlet; or I may call on Hestia, Vesta, Brigid and Bast for home blessings. It is in these more accessible forms that I identify with the Goddess and the God – they exist as separate entities, but are all ‘of’ Them – aspects personified, maybe? I am not sure how to describe how I feel about it, exactly, and years of being told what to think and how to think of and approach and worship has left me feeling just fine with a fluid personal concept of deity.

In any case, I was curious as to how those of you who mix pantheons do things, and if you have a generally positive or generally negative experience doing so.

Brightest Blessings,

Leave a Reply

