Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Candle Magic

It’s been a while since I participated in Pagan Blog Prompts. This have been pretty busy lately and I have been missing out!
This week’s prompt is on candle magic.

Do you use candle magic in your spells/rituals?
How do you do it?
What would you recommend for beginners?

I am a longtime fan of candle magic. It’s one of the easiest magics to learn and perform, and in its simplicity, is viable for a wide range of magical uses.

Candles hold several appeals for me. Fire is my element, and the obvious connection between candles and fire makes the magic easy for me to access. Having something to focus on (the flame), having something to write on (inscribe the wax), and even embedding objects on the wax make candles ideal for so many things.

I use a variety of candles in my personal practice: pillar candles, votives, tea lights, tapers, seven-day devotional candles, tiny tapers – even the odd jar candle has a place. Though they all serve a purpose in my practice, not all of them are ‘magic’ candles. I use tapers for my God and Goddess devotionals, I use a pillar (or two) for a Working Candle (usually inscribed with runes, symbols, words, and other tokens pertaining to my personal practice; I use a white pillar for waxing moon and a dark pillar for waning moon) and votives for various purposes – elements, devotions to specific deities or ‘for’ someone. When I do magic ‘for’ someone – more than just a candle to send healing, peaceful thoughts and energy – when I work a spell for someone (which is rare outside of my immediate family and very close friends), I use the tiny tapers. They’re meant to burn hot and fast, which means that I can work a spell and have it on its way relatively quickly – faster than votives.

If you have children, candle magic with tea lights is a great way to introduce them to spell-casting. The cups are just the right size to hold herbs or trinkets imbued with intent, and they burn fairly quickly and safely. Simple spells, like banishing bad dreams (add lavender and chamomile to the cup, then have your child write a description of the bad dream or draw a picture. Light the candle and burn the paper in the flame while saying something simple, like ‘Fire light, burning bright, take these dreams with you tonight.” Repeat as many times as it takes to burn the paper, and then ‘So mote it be’), or creating space to study for a test (add rosemary, frankincense, and sandalwood to the cup, then light the candle. Place on your desk while you study. This candle can be re-lit for each study session).

One thing that I have done in the past is to make candles similar to these:

decorated candles courtesy of Lightly Enchanted blog
http://lightlyenchanted.blogspot.com/2011/01/decorating-candles_18.html

The herbs, flowers and other things can be glued on with Mod Podge, school glue or with melted wax. If you’re making them with kids, then you can add bits of poems, songs or spell couplets to the outside (though use caution when burning!) or pictures that the kids draw.

In short, candle magic rocks! If you’re new to simple spell-casting, give candle magic a try.

Brightest Blessings,

 

2 responses

  1. I knew this would be a good prompt this week – it really can be very simple or totally complicated, and it is pretty easy to learn.
    Thanks for sharing with us at PBP this week.

    July 2, 2012 at 1:43 PM

  2. Very pretty candles. I never thought about using tea lites for kids. But I love the idea. Btw, grabbing your button to put on my blog. :)

    July 2, 2012 at 1:48 PM

Leave a Reply

