Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Nothing

I have been struggling all week to figure out what to write for my N post for the Pagan Blog Project. Usually, I make a list of all the words that start with the letter I am working with that sound interesting or that I can think of that I might want to write about. For N, I came up with all kids of topics, but none of them jumped out and grabbed me. I finally settled on ‘needfire’, but other than copying the definition from Wikipedia, I am coming up all blanks.

So rather than force myself to write about a topic that my heart is not in at the moment, I thought I would write about ‘nothing’ – doing nothing, saying nothing.

Today, I have had the rare pleasure of being home all day, with nothing on the menu other than hanging out with my kids and playing internet when the mood struck. In my world, days like this are few and far between. We’re normally packed to the gills with places to go, things to do and people to see. I love my hectic life, don’t get me wrong, but the hustle and bustle of our everyday schedule makes it really hard to take time to stop and small the roses.

Days like today, when we are unexpectedly schedule-free, are especially nice. It was a fine opportunity to mindfully connect with my home, to re-affirm the sacred space within it, and take more time that the usual once-over to maintain it. There’s also the opportunity to revel in being ‘still’. Not merely sitting still, but being still in spirit – listening to the environment both outside and inside my body and appreciating the stillness.

Tomorrow will be back to busy, busy, busy, but for today, I am thankful for ‘nothing‘.

Brightest Blessings,

Leave a Reply

