Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Pagan Pride

This week’s Pagan Blog Prompt is about Pagan Pride. With Pagan Pride Day coming up in the fall, lots of places and groups are organizing events. In my area, the closest larger-scale event will be in Houston, TX.

The questions asked for this week’s prompt are:

What is it PPD really about? Are we trying to show non-Pagans that we aren’t that weird? Are we simply creating an excuse to gather with and meet like-minded folks? Is it about self, pagan community, local community, or something bigger?

If you’ve attended a Pagan Pride event,please share some of your experiences.

I have yet to attend a PPD event. It’s not been something that has been high on my list of priorities in past years, but this year I am planning to go. It means a day trip to Houston, and I am planning on taking my children with me, at least to the daytime stuff.

Why? What’s it all about? For me, it’s about finding community – connecting with other Pagans, especially Pagan families. I am blessed – I know several Pagan families and my children have a handful of friends that are Pagan, but there’s something about being in a huge group of like-minded people that reaffirms your outlook.

I suppose part of PPD is to help ‘normalize’ Pagans. It’s hard to remain indifferent or be hateful to a group of people when you stop seeing a group and start seeing the people as individuals. Pagans are business people, teachers, engineers, doctors, law enforcement, military, mothers and fathers, students, children, grandparents – with the same joys and struggles that everyone else has. We worry about paying bills and hurricane safety plans and how to get to the bank before closing just like you do. So much of Pagan ‘culture’ is wrapped in mystery, myth and superstition that it’s hard to combat those stereotypes as an individual. In a group, it’s easier to show just how ‘normal’ we are, and allow an opportunity for the public to interact with the Pagan Community in a more open setting.

I don’t think that any one aspect of Pagan Pride Day is more or less important than any other – it is for all of those reasons – and more – and I can’t wait to be a part of it this year!

Brightest Blessings,

2 responses

  1. I hope you got to go. I love hearing positive responses to these sorts of events, and I sincerely hope to attend one myself someday…

    February 4, 2013 at 7:01 AM

    • I did get to go! It was really a wonderful experience. :)

      February 18, 2013 at 7:17 PM

Leave a Reply

