Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Houston Pagan Pride Day 2012

This past weekend, I went with some of my Circle Sisters to Houston’s Pagan Pride Day at That Pizza Place on Ella. We had such a great time!

I was kinda nervous about going – I’ve never been to anything like that. The only large-scale Pagan gathering I’ve been to was a ritual hosted by another local group (and it was a less-than stellar experience), so this was a totally new thing for me.

I have to say that the atmosphere was just lovely. Warm and inviting, energetic and lively – I am not at all disappointed that we went. There was music and dancing, and I met a few members of a Houston-area Druid Circle and another group, Blackberry Circle, and were invited to attend their Samhain ritual in November. I think some of us are planning on trying to go!

There were also quite a few vendors. I bought a Mjolnir pendant, some copal resin, and white sage from Deidre La Faye Magickal Gifts, admired their crystal/gem-embellished vials but ultimately purchased some patchouli oil from ElvenKeep, saw some amazing shrine boxes from Elemental Enchantments, got rocked by Robin Kirby, and Wild Rabbit Salad; was enchanted by Chanson De Vie Belly Dance Troupe and utterly enjoyed the main ritual, a Sumerian ritual led by Kaleen Reed. Such beautiful, clean energy from all those wonderful people!

                               AARF LogoCMA logo

The charity was AARF (Adopt a Rescued Friend), and Spiral Scouts were there to lend a helping hand. Council of Magical Arts was there – I don’t know much about hem, but got some literature and look forward to learning more.

I left with a renewed interest in Spiral Scouts, too. A while back, a friend of mine got the information to start a group here, but this was back when SS was pretty new and she said that they didn’t seem to have their structure as organized as it is now. I spoke t her the other day and I think that we’re going to work on trying to start one again. Between SS and our Circle’s children’s school, I think that we’re in a place to offer an active SS group for this area. It will be nice to have a scouting organization that is more in line with my personal beliefs again… so yeah. Definitely interested in getting that started.

Though this was a kid-friendly event, I didn’t bring my kiddos. It was a ‘girls bonding’ thing, which was really nice. We all had name-tag stickers with our Circle logo, and it was nice to be recognized as part of a ‘group’. My sticker got a little wrinkly by the end of the day – but was well-worn with pride!

Anyway – I just thought I would share a bit about my experience. I think next year, our Circle is interested in vending – some of us are pretty crafty, and it might be good exposure for us as well.

Brightest Blessings,

This post is part of the Pagan Blog Project. To read more posts with the ‘P’ topic, originally for the week of August 10, 2012, click the button:

Pagan Blog Project 2012

Leave a Reply

