Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Beltane Day 2013

I’ve been meaning to really get the kids involved in celebrating the seasons. On the one hand, I want what we do to be a part of the norm – fairy offerings, chants for prayer and song, but on the other, I also want to take note of the change of seasons and make the sabbats a special thing – without having to make it into a chore.

As a pagan parent, I have found it hard to find things that really ‘fit’ for the kids. The things that I do for myself to find balance are not things that would appeal to the kids. While my personal practice is more about reflection on the sabbats, they like the celebratory aspects. I enjoy them, but would be just as happy with a simple ceremony as a full group ritual.

I started off the morning with a visit with my plants over coffee. Kids were still asleep, so I trimmed some blooms off of my new lavender and picked out some yellowed leaves from my mint, and found a wee baby mushroom growing near my radishes and picked stray fallen leaves from my pots and boxes.

Then I finished writing up the Beltane Ritual that our Circle will be doing tonight, and took down my Ostara altar and set up my Beltane altar. I will have additional things on it after tonight’s ritual, but for now, it’s very neat and clear.

Rowan's Beltane Altar 2013

Beltane is one of my favorite sabbats. I feel like I’ve come out of a funk and everything is heavy with possibility.

I did find some fun Beltane suggestions at Spellcasting with Morgainne that I thought would be interesting for the kids.

  • Beating the bounds. This custom involves walking around the boundaries of one’s property to invoke protection. In some places, the entire community would walk the boundaries of their village, proceeding deosil (clockwise) around the boundary. This would be an excellent time to walk around your house, yard, apartment building, or just your personal space. You can speak, chant, sing or silently appeal for protection.

I like this idea. We are using our walking sticks to walk the perimeter of our property and adding an offering of bread and honey and milk in the East to the Guardian Spirits as well, to honor them and ask for their continued protection in the coming year. We’ll also revitalize our Witch Balls in the house today.

A simple chant is fun and easy to remember:

“Guardian Spirits of this place

I honor you in chant and grace

Grant your blessings in this year

and protection so that we may not fear

For any who should wish us harm

Turn them back; so ends this charm”

Next up:

  • Petitions for good health. Take ribbons or fabric strips and write requests for healing, then tie them to a tree. Hawthorn, Ash, Thorn and Sycamore are the magickal trees of Beltane, but any tree or shrub will do.

We’re doing a form of this; writing on fallen leaves and letting the wind take them to the spirits that can help.

  • Do something creative. I have often used the afternoon on Beltane to craft sacred oils, dry herbs or even craft beaded jewelry. Make use of this powerful energy by putting your mind toward artistic pursuits.

Creative pursuits are always encouraged here! My budding young artists and chemists love to create, so this is something we can do with great fun. I think I am going to pick up some melt-and-pour soap and let the kids make some herbal soaps for themselves.

How are you celebrating Beltane with your family?

Brightest Blessings,

One response

  1. ABeauchamp

    I just loved your idea of writing on the fallen leaves! Can’t wait to do it myself.

    May 3, 2013 at 10:36 AM

Leave a Reply

