Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Preparing for 2015

CAM00743 (1)I’m the first to admit it – I tend to overplan for things. I don’t think that’s an actual word, but it should be, because that’s exactly what I do. I was looking for new books on Amazon, and it occurred to me that the new almanacs should be out, so I ordered the 2015 Llewellyn’s Magical Almanac, which led to thinking about the moon cycles for the coming year, and the realization that I didn’t have them written for my Shadow Book yet. So I started browsing some of the ready-made/printable lunar calendars, and stumbled across Lucy Everitt’s AMAZING lunar calendars.

I am planning to order one for myself, but being me, I needed something *immediately*, so I sat down and started creating. This is what I came up with. Nothing too fancy, and definitely not anything remotely similar to Lucy’s incredible work, but I’ve been craving a creative outlet for a while now, and this was just the thing to satisfy that itch. I found some of he images online, and the font is from DaFont.com. I used a combination of pencil, colored pencils, fountain pen & ink (magenta & indigo), stamps and markers to decorate. I am not finished with it – I am nothing if not a doodler, so I am sure that over the course of the next week or so (and maybe longer), I will add bits and pieces to it.

One of the things I love about making my own things is that they are tailored to my specific path. In this case, the names of the moons, the deities I choose to venerate each month, and specific holidays and feast days and other things I want to remember for this coming year.

The past few months have been hectic, and as a result, the attention I’ve been in the habit of giving to walking my path has been non-existent. Other than a few nods here and there, I’ve neglected tending to myself and I recently realized just how much of a negative thing that’s been for me. Drawing and creating this calendar was a good first step towards nourishing my spirituality.

Mabon’s here, and I will be celebrating with my Circle this weekend. A little late, but better late than never! This will be our first observance in several months, and I am looking forward to it!

Brightest Blessings,

RH_med small

One response

  1. That’s a beautiful calender, Rowan. I always love checking out the new calendars as soon as they come out. I don’t usually buy them until after the new year, but the looking starts early. ;) Have a blessed Mabon.

    September 26, 2014 at 10:11 AM

Leave a Reply

