Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Finding Balance

I’ve been thinking a lot about to concept of balance in my life lately. I realize that at some point over the last 6 months or so, my balance has been off, and I’ve been taking steps to bring my focus back to center. Losing balance is so easy – one thing slides, then another, and before you know it, you look up and discover that everything is off kilter. Finding that even keel again takes work, but it’s a worthy endeavor.

Since middle school, I’ve known that art is central to my personal happiness and fulfillment in general. Without that creative outlet, an essential component is missing from my sense of wholeness. It’s not necessarily ‘good’ art, but it’s a means of expression that I find incredibly satisfying. Over the past few years, I have also found that my spiritual side can be nourished through artistic creation.

I’ve mentioned before that I favor creating my own tools, rather than purchasing them. That’s one way that I’ve found to satisfy both the need to create and fan the fires of my spirituality at the same time. I’ve also started several art journals that are inspired by my personal beliefs and interest in and connection to specific deities and aspects of paganism that I find sustenance in.

But lately, things have been so hectic that I’ve spent more time ‘living’ and not nearly enough time ‘being’. It’s been months of hurrying through one task simply to get to the next. Taking the time to appreciate where I am in life and at this moment is one of the facets of pagan belief that I love – stopping to smell the flowers, being one with nature, connecting with the ebb and flow of the Wheel, reveling in the cycles of the moon, observing and celebrating feast and festival days (even if it’s only in token) – these are concepts and practices that keep me connected and grounded and aware of the passing of time that I have discovered that without them, I lose track of the days and end up disconnected.

To get back to that centered place, I have really been focusing on getting back to tending my spiritual side. I posted about my new Shadow Book a few days ago, and I’ve been working on it this week as well, adding new bits of information I’ve collected and creatingCAM00770 more attractive pages with textures that I find appealing. Again, art is food for me, and my SB is no different – I have a physical need for it to be a thing of beauty and interest – there’s magic in that!

I also cleared off my altar and started from scratch decorating for Samhain. Fall has arrived, and as it is my favorite season, some ‘fall cleaning’ has been in order. Additionally, our Circle has started meeting again, and we’re considering the possibility of creating a formal Coven. I don’t know if we will or not, but it’s a fun thought-exercise for now. We’re working through a new book as a group, Raven Grimassi’s Old World Witchcraft, and seeing where that takes us. As a group of eclectics practicing together, it’s pretty neat that we’ve found some common ground to cover.

It feels very good to be focusing on this aspect of my life again!

Brightest Blessings,

RH_med small

 

One response

  1. Your altar is beautiful and definitely evokes the sacred feel of Samhain.

    October 17, 2014 at 4:51 PM

Leave a Reply

