Tales of a Southern Pagan Mom

Pagan Pride Day – Houston 2015

I am happy to say that I made it out to Houston’s PPD this year! I missed last year, so it was nice to be back around ‘my people’ again. Several of the members of my local Circle group went together, so it was really a great day. I don’t think I mentioned it before, but we recently ‘rekindled’ our Circle group, which has been just lovely. I’ll probably write about that separately though.

In addition to spending time with my Circle, I got to see quite a few people that I haven’t seen in a long time – probably since 2013’s PPD. I know just ‘through the grapevine’ that the Pagan community in the Houston area has suffered divisions in the past, but I don’t live there and so am thankfully spared much of the drama; it was nice to see that those tensions didn’t spill over into the general vibe of the day.

Donations from the event went towards Spiral Scouts and SNAP – the local Spiral Scouts troop had homemade cookies and candies for sale. I picked up one of the Pinterest creations – a Rollo candy heated and pressed between two square salted pretzels – so yummy! Perfectly salty and sweet; that’s definitely something that we’ll be trying this holiday season.

As always, there were a variety of vendors there; my favorite being ElvenKeep Creations. I snagged a new crystal point necklace and a bunch of incense (best. incense. EVER!!) and have been burning it daily – my house smells amazing. I also picked up a few other knick-knacks, including a lovely and ornate hanging brass censer. I haven’t ever had one that was on a chain, which is nice because it doesn’t have to take up space on my altar. It will also be nice to use during Ritual.

The guest speaker was Ellen Dugan; she apparently lost her voice during the day, so she wasn’t able to give the lecture she’d planned, but I had the opportunity to chat with her for a bit and picked up Cottage Witchery, which she autographed for me.

Till next year, Happy Pagan Pride Day!

Brightest Blessings,
RH_med small

Leave a Reply

